By June 13, 2007 0 Comments Read More →

Car insurance laws New York.

Reader question:

Living in Albany, New York, what are the laws about car insurance?

Cynthia

Good question, Cynthia.

Liability insurance is the minimum required in New York state, with $25,000 for bodily injury, $50,000 for death, and $10,000 for property damage. Still, this is just the bare minimum, so further coverage is recommended by most insurance companies. All the same, this bare minimum is absolutely necessary, even if your car is broken down and stored in the garage–New York has a no fault law that requires insurance on cars whether they are in use or not.

  • If the car is registered in New York, then it has to have insurance through a company registered with the state of New York. Out-of-state insurance is not accepted.
  • The name of the person who’s name is registered to the car has to be the same one on the insurance. Others can be added to the insurance, but if the registrant’s name is taken off it’s considered a lack of insurance and that person’s license could be suspended.
  • To register a car, you have to show your insurance ID card. When you get insurance, your insurance company is required by law to give you two of these cards, and for them to be valid they have to have bar codes and all the information on them must match.
  • You can’t verify your insurance just with the ID card. The insurance company also has to file with the Department of Motor Vehicles that you have insurance.
  • You have to bring your insurance identification card to the DMV within thirty days of getting it. They’ll keep one, and you keep the other in your car. You’re required to have proof of insurance at all times.

Sincerely,

Fashun Guadarrama.

Posted in: Auto Insurance

About the Author: